Gabriel García Márquez
Language Resources

Gabriel García Márquez was born on March 6, 1927 in Aracataca, Colombia. He is a worldwide best-selling novelist, screenwriter, journalist and short-story writer who has earned a Nobel Prize in Literature as well as a consideration for being one of the 20th century's most significant authors.

He is best-known for his novels, One Hundred Years of Solitude, published in 1967, and Love in the Time of Cholera, published in 1985. His literary style is labeled as magical realism, which takes realistic, everyday situations and adds in more magical elements. Many of his works have certain elements in common, such as the themes of solitude and violence as well as the fictional setting of Macondo, a small town in Colombia conjured up by García Márquez himself.

The setting, characters and events in many of García Márquez's works come from his youth growing up in his maternal grandparents' house in Aracataca, Colombia.

Gabriel García Márquez Works

  • In Evil Hour (1962)
  • One Hundred Years of Solitude (1967)
  • The Autumn of the Patriarch (1975)
  • Chronicle of a Death Foretold (1981)
  • Love in the Time of Cholera (1985)
  • The General in his Labyrinth (1989)
  • Of Love and Other Demoons (1994)

In addition to his novels and novellas, García Márquez also has several short story collections, non-fiction publications, screenplays.

Chat with us